Midnight Reflections
You are not logged in. Please log in or register before continuing.

Vampires, demons, angels, gods. Enter a world of fantasy and become a creature of magic, and fate.
HomePortalCalendarFAQSearchUsergroupsRegisterLog in


 Angels and Fallen Angels

Go down 

Posts : 386
Join date : 2013-09-29
Age : 26
Location : The Dark Abyss

Character sheet

Angels and Fallen Angels Empty
PostSubject: Angels and Fallen Angels   Angels and Fallen Angels EmptySun Nov 17, 2013 12:12 am


An angel (from the Greek ἄγγελος - ángelos) is a supernatural being or spirit, often depicted in humanoid form with feathered wings on their backs and halos around their heads, found in various religions and mythologies.

The theological study of angels is known as "angelology" . In Zoroastrianism and Abrahamic religions they are often depicted as benevolent celestial beings who act as intermediaries between Heaven and Earth, or as guardian spirits or a guiding influence.

The term "angel" has also been expanded to various notions of spirits found in many other religious traditions. Other roles of angels include protecting and guiding human beings, and carrying out God's tasks.


  • Seraphim- Seraphim (singular "Seraph") are the highest angelic class and serve as the caretakers of the thrones of the Gods and continuously shout praises to the Gods they serve. Seraphim have six wings: "with two he covered his face, and with two he covered his feet, and with two he flew"-Isaiah 6:2.

  • Archangels- The word "archangel" comes from the Greek ἀρχάγγελος (archangělǒs), meaning chief angel. It derives from the Greek archō, meaning to be first in rank or power; and angělǒs which means messenger or envoy.

    It is said that there are seven of these archangels.

    The Seven Archangels are said to be the guardian angels of nations and countries, and are concerned with the issues and events surrounding these, including politics, military matters, commerce and trade.

    It is possible to make a distinction between archangel (with a lower-case a) and Archangel (with an uppercase A). The former can denote the second-lowest choir (arch-angels in the sense of being just above the lowest Choir of angels that is called only "angels") but the latter may denote the highest of all the angels

  • Dominions- The "Dominions" (lat. dominatio, plural dominationes, also translated from the Greek term kyriotetes, pl. of kyriotes, as "Lordships") or "Domination's" are presented as the hierarchy of celestial beings "Lordships" in the De Coelesti Hierarchia. The Dominions regulate the duties of lower angels. It is only with extreme rarity that the angelic lords make themselves physically known to humans. They are also the angels who preside over nations.

    The Dominions are believed to look like divinely beautiful humans with a pair of feathered wings, much like the common representation of angels, but they may be distinguished from other groups by wielding orbs of light fastened to the heads of their scepters or on the pommel of their swords.

  • Watcher- Watchers (Aramaic, עִיר, iyr; Theodotian trans: ir; from the root of Heb. ἐγρήγοροι, trans: egrḗgoroi; Slav transliteration, Grigori, "Those who are awake") are angels who are guards of the gates of the Cosmos/Heavens. These angels are not required to be either good or evil. Instead, they can be a mix of both or even be neutral.

  • Cherubim- Cherubim have four faces: one of each a man, an ox, a lion, and an eagle. They have four conjoined wings covered with eyes, a lion's body figure, and they have ox's feet. Cherubim guard the way to the tree of life and the thrones of the Gods.

  • Thrones/Ophanim- The "Thrones" (Greek: thronoi, pl. of thronos) or Elders, also known as the Erelim or Ophanim are a class of celestial beings that are living symbols of the justice and authority of the Gods, and have as one of their symbols the throne.

    The Ophanim (Heb. ofanim: Wheels) are unusual looking even compared to the other celestial beings; They appear as a beryl-colored wheel-within-a-wheel, their rims covered with hundreds of eyes.

    They are closely connected with the Cherubim.

  • Virtues- The "Virtues" or "Strongholds" lay beyond the ophanim (Thrones/Wheels). Their primary duty is to supervise the movements of the heavenly bodies in order to ensure that the cosmos remains in order.

    The term appears to be linked to the attribute "Might", from the Greek root dynamis (pl. dynameis), which is also translated as "Virtue". They are presented as the celestial Choir "Virtues", in the Summa Theologica.

  • Rulers- The "Principalities" (lat. principatus, pl. principatūs), translated as "Princedoms" and "Rulers", from the Greek archai, pl. of arche, appear to collaborate, in power and authority, with the Authorities.

    The Rulers are shown wearing a crown and carrying a scepter. Their duty also is said to be to carry out the orders given to them by the Dominions and bequeath blessings to the material world. Their task is to oversee groups of people. They are the educators and guardians of the realm of earth. Like beings related to the world of the germinal ideas, they are said to inspire living things to create many things such as art or science.

  • Authorities- The "Authorities", from the Greek exousiai, pl. of exousia, appear to collaborate, in power and authority, with the Rulers.

    The Authorities are the bearers of conscience and the keepers of history. They are also the warrior angels created to be completely loyal to the Gods. Some believe that no Authority has ever fallen from grace, but another theory states that Satan was the Chief of the Authorities before he Fell. Their duty is to oversee the distribution of power among humankind, hence their name.

  • Angel- The "angels" or malakhim, i.e. the "plain" angels (ἄγγελοι, pl. of the Greek word ἄγγελος, angělǒs, i.e. messenger or envoy), are the lowest order of the angels, and the most recognized. They are the ones most concerned with the affairs of living things. Within the category of the angels, there are many different kinds, with different functions. The angels are sent as messengers to mankind.

  • Fallen- Fallen are wicked or rebellious angels that have been cast out of Heaven and damned to earth. Their wings have been removed and they've been cursed to be a part of a vicious cycle of death and rebirth as a vampire. They're classified by their abilities and characteristics since most Fallen still retain some of their angelic qualities.
Back to top Go down
Angels and Fallen Angels
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Midnight Reflections :: Rules and Info :: Races :: Closed Races-
Jump to: